Home » Honey and Darling » I don’t mean to be fussy…

I don’t mean to be fussy…

…OK, maybe I do, but really?  In a medium that relies largely on visual recognition cues, it’s really important to maintain some semblance of consistency with how the characters are drawn…

Here we have three pictures of (I assume) Abbey (formerly known as Honey) and aside from the hat (with the changeable hat-band, apparently) we’d hardly know it was her…

Honey

 

I know, way too much time on my hands… I could be solving for world hunger and yet I am (mostly) content to drink coffee and criticize this comic strip… Does it ever get old? Surprisingly no, but I must say that I was more than likely to be “in” on the joke and laughing “with” the author in the old days… Now I am prone to actually criticize…

content07142016

But back to the story…and more research- the Nihoa Finch.  Looking at the picture, it would seem that this particular Nihoa Finch flew through a bleach bath, with none of its typical color palette showing… It does appear to be critically endangered, though, so maybe that’s the angle- looking for new habitat… And what makes you think you aren’t on Nihoa Island??  Perhaps in judging by the pictures, in real life it looks quite rocky and formidable- not sandy, lush and inviting…

So we are still left to wonder what became of “Darling…” Maybe Abbey is like the Black Widow Spider- kills her mate after making love…

One thought on “I don’t mean to be fussy…

  1. That’s Abbey Powell with the sunglasses, from last year. James Allen explained in a comment on yesterday’s strip that Abbey will explain what happened to Honey and Darling:

    http://www.seattlepi.com/comics-and-games/fun/Mark_Trail/2016-07-13/

    I too was confused — I thought at first that Abbey was Honey — and wrote a post about it, with tea, not coffee. (The link’s in my name.) Why Allen gave both women green hats and bikinis is beyond me. Maybe they had a sale on green. The hats do have different shapes and bands, but still. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

